Borough Government

Elverson is a borough, under the Commonwealth's system of municipal classifications. It is governed by a Mayor and a 7-person Borough Council whose members are elected for 4-year, staggered terms. Elverson is managed and administered by the Borough Council and assisted by a Borough Secretary/Treasurer who is appointed by Council, and by an elected constable. The constable works on an as-needed basis and the Secretary/Treasurer works 9:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. Monday, Tuesday and Thursday on behalf of the Borough. 

The Borough Council is also assisted and advised by several volunteer boards, commissions and committees, whose members it appoints. Some of these are: The Planning Commission, Zoning Hearing Board, Municipal Authority, Historical Commission, Buildings & Grounds Committee, Parks & Recreation Committee, Communications Committee, Streets & Lights Committee, Neighborhood Watch Committee, Recycling & Solid Waste Committee and Emergency Coordinator. 

The Borough also receives paid professional assistance, primarily from its solicitor, code enforcement officer, and engineer, each of whom it retains on an annual basis.


Elverson Borough Council, PO Box 206, Elverson, PA 19520 - Email:

Meets first Tuesday each month, 7:00 PM.

Planning Commission - Meets third Wednesday each month (as needed) 7:00 PM

Municipal Authority of the Borough of Elverson (MABE)  - Meets last Tuesday each month - 7:00 PM

PO Box 266, Elverson, PA 19520

Phone:  610-286-8876

Hours:    Monday - Friday    9:30 - 12:30       

Borough Taxes

Earned Income Tax    1% (split evenly with the school district)

Property Tax               ZERO for the year 2008

County Government

Chester County Court House 800-692-1100



County Services

State Government

Federal Government

Last Updated April 2, 2008